Extracted from official department pages; latest recorded check 2026-09-08. Not independently verified. Skeleton: IPEDS 2023 via the Urban Institute.
Funding facts extracted from each program's official pages, with the quotes kept as evidence.
How US computer science doctorates are funded
2595 doctorates awarded in 2024 · median 5.7 years in the doctoral program · 58% research assistantships · 16% teaching assistantships · 15% fellowships or grants
3632 programs
Institutions awarding CS or engineering research doctorates (IPEDS 2023). We have not extracted funding facts for these yet.
| Institution | Location | Doctoral awards |
|---|---|---|
| University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras (opens in new tab) | San Juan, PR | 86 |
| Touro University (opens in new tab) | New York, NY | 75 |
| Ana G. Mendez University (opens in new tab) | Orlando, FL | 55 |
| Pittsburgh Theological Seminary (opens in new tab) | Pittsburgh, PA | 51 |
| Ashford University (opens in new tab) | San Diego, CA | 38 |
| New York Institute of Technology (opens in new tab) | Old Westbury, NY | 34 |
| The Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary (opens in new tab) | Fort Worth, TX | 29 |
| Our Lady of the Lake University (opens in new tab) | San Antonio, TX | 29 |
| Tiffin University (opens in new tab) | Tiffin, OH | 23 |
| Five Branches University (opens in new tab) | Santa Cruz, CA | 20 |
| Amridge University (opens in new tab) | Montgomery, AL | 19 |
| Faith International University (opens in new tab) | Tacoma, WA | 16 |
| Academy of Chinese Culture and Health Sciences (opens in new tab) | Oakland, CA | 16 |
| Bellin College (opens in new tab) | Green Bay, WI | 15 |
| Presbyterian Theological Seminary in America (opens in new tab) | Santa Fe Springs, CA | 13 |
| Gannon University (opens in new tab) | Erie, PA | 11 |
| Albany Medical College (opens in new tab) | Albany, NY | 8 |
| The Juilliard School (opens in new tab) | New York, NY | 8 |
| Rollins College (opens in new tab) | Winter Park, FL | 8 |
| Fontbonne University (opens in new tab) | Saint Louis, MO | 7 |
| Caribbean University-Bayamon (opens in new tab) | Bayamon, PR | 7 |
| Caribbean University-Ponce (opens in new tab) | Ponce, PR | 7 |
| Colorado Chinese Medicine University (opens in new tab) | Denver, CO | 5 |
| Christian Theological Seminary (opens in new tab) | Indianapolis, IN | 4 |
| Phoenix Seminary (opens in new tab) | Scottsdale, AZ | 4 |
| College of Staten Island CUNY (opens in new tab) | Staten Island, NY | 3 |
Funding typicalNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the source
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Optional
Application fee
Not stated
“Optional: Applications will be read without GRE test scores, but applicants should submit scores if they believe they will enhanc…”
Funding typicalNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the source
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Optional
Application fee
Not stated
“GRE test scores are optional for those with MS and BS degrees in mathematical sciences... for others it is required”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Optional
Application fee
Not stated
“Three letters of recommendation”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Required
Application fee
$50
“A completed and signed application form submitted prior to the established deadline and accompanied by the $50 application fee.”
Funding typicalNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the source
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
“At VSU, the DNP program will be offer as a BSN-DNP program and as a Post-Master s DNP.”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
“One characteristic that makes our doctoral program unique is the non-dissertation component. Doctoral students now produce two pu…”
Funding typicalNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the source
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not required
Application fee
$50
“The EdD does not require the GRE or any other standardized test for admissions.”
Funding typicalNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the source
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
“The President’s Doctoral Fellowships are awarded to students entering Doctoral programs. Awards of $12,000 are based on prior aca…”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the source
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Optional
Application fee
$40
“Nonrefundable application fee of $40”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
No evidence quote extracted yet.
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
“Students interested in this program should apply via Trinity Western University , see TWU for more information.”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
“Doctoral $561”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
$50
“Application fee: $50”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
No evidence quote extracted yet.
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
No evidence quote extracted yet.
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
“The application for the Fall 2026 intake is now closed.”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
“Minimum 3.25 graduate GPA”
Funding typicalNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the source
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Optional
Application fee
Not stated
“A minimum GPA of 3.25 is required for graduate work completed at a regionally accredited institution of higher learning.”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
No evidence quote extracted yet.
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
No evidence quote extracted yet.
Funding typicalNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the source
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
“The Program will be limited to qualified candidates who have completed a master’s degree or degrees, with no fewer than 60 gradua…”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Required
Application fee
Not stated
“Test Required: GRE - 156V/160Q (within the last five years)”
Funding typicalNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the source
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Required
Application fee
Not stated
“A student seeking a Doctor of Philosophy degree should have a Master’s degree in mathematics, statistics, science, or engineering.”
Funding unknownNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the sourceNeeds review
Stipend
Not stated
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
No evidence quote extracted yet.
Funds all admitsNo deadline listed. Many labs and rolling programs post without one, check the source
Stipend
$37,595/year
GRE
Not stated
Application fee
Not stated
“Students' research and education is fully supported through NIH training grants, endowed fellowships, investigator-initiated rese…”