Outcome figures are institution wide, from the US Department of Education College Scorecard.
GRENot stated
English test (TOEFL or IELTS)Not stated
Minimum GPANot stated
Recommendation lettersNot stated
Prior degreeNot stated
Statement of purposeNot stated
“All students admitted to the English Ph.D. program receive five years of 12-month funding with competitive funding available for a sixth year.”
“Funding covers applicable tuition costs, Stanford Cardinal Care health insurance, and living expenses in the form of direct stipend, teaching assistantships or pre-doctoral research assistantships.”
Extracted from english.stanford.edu (opens in new tab) and vpge.stanford.edu (opens in new tab) · latest recorded check 2026-09-08