Outcome figures are institution wide, from the US Department of Education College Scorecard.
GRENot required
English test (TOEFL or IELTS)See policy
TOEFL (minimum 90 points) or IELTS (minimum overall band score: 7)
Minimum GPANot stated
Recommendation lettersRequired
3 letters
Prior degreeNot stated
Statement of purposeRequired
“Application Deadline January 3, 2027”
“Incoming doctoral students receive five or six years of guaranteed financial support, including summers, a stipend, tuition remission, a health-services fee, and health and dental insurance.”
“TOEFL/IELTS: Where applicable, a current TOEFL score (minimum 90 points) or IELTS (minimum overall band score: 7)”
Extracted from graduateprograms.brown.edu (opens in new tab) and graduateschool.brown.edu (opens in new tab) · latest recorded check 2026-09-08