Outcome figures are institution wide, from the US Department of Education College Scorecard.
GRENot required
English test (TOEFL or IELTS)Not stated
Minimum GPANot stated
Recommendation lettersRequired
3 letters
Prior degreeNot stated
Statement of purposeRequired
“GRE is not required for all Ph.D. applicants”
“3 Letters of Recommendation Recommendation letters should be from academia or industry.”
“All students admitted to the PhD program will automatically be considered for financial support and tuition waiver if the application is submitted by the due date.”
Extracted from www.cs.stonybrook.edu (opens in new tab) and www.stonybrook.edu (opens in new tab) · latest recorded check 2026-09-08