Outcome figures are institution wide, from the US Department of Education College Scorecard.
GRENot stated
English test (TOEFL or IELTS)See policy
TOEFL/IELTS/PTE ( international
Minimum GPANot stated
Recommendation lettersNot stated
Prior degreeNot stated
Statement of purposeRequired
“A multiyear guarantee of continuous funding is frequently offered to newly matriculating PhD students.”
“For FY26 (2025-26 academic year), the pay scale for 9.5-month teaching, graduate, and research assistantships range between $28,046 and $29,144.”
“Statement of Purpose: Other than the required questions for the Statement of Purpose asked by the University of Maryland, the History Department asks applicants to include content that emphasizes academic and research interests”
Extracted from academiccatalog.umd.edu (opens in new tab) and gradschool.umd.edu (opens in new tab) · latest recorded check 2026-09-08