Outcome figures are institution wide, from the US Department of Education College Scorecard.
GRENot required
English test (TOEFL or IELTS)See policy
TOEFL Paper (PBT) 550 TOEFL Internet (iBT) 79 (for exams taken before January 21, 2026; 4.5 (for exams taken on or after January 21, 2026) IELTS 6.5 PTE 53 Duolingo 115
Minimum GPASee policy
3.0
Recommendation lettersNot stated
Prior degreeSee policy
4 year Bachelor’s degree (or equivalent)
Statement of purposeNot stated
“For guaranteed consideration for the Fall semester, please submit your application by December 1st.”
“Minimum 3.0 GPA (Program may alter requirement.)”
“Most Iowa State doctoral students and many of our master's students are appointed to graduate assistantships (GAs).”
Extracted from www.grad-college.iastate.edu (opens in new tab) · latest recorded check 2026-09-08