Outcome figures are institution wide, from the US Department of Education College Scorecard.
GRENot stated
English test (TOEFL or IELTS)See policy
TOEFL 89 (Internet-based), 230 (computer-based), or 570 (paper-based); IELTS 7. Waivers may be requested by applicants who have completed a four-year bachelor's degree at an English-speaking institution.
Minimum GPANot stated
Recommendation lettersNot stated
Prior degreeNot stated
Statement of purposeNot stated
“Students admitted to the Ph.D. program usually receive financial support in the form of a combination of fellowships, teaching assistantships, and/or graduate research assistantships.”
“Applicants whose native language is not English must take the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) exam or the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) exam”
“For admission purposes, the minimum passing score for the TOEFL exam must be 570 on the paper-based, 230 on the computer-based, or 89 on the Internet-based test. The minimum passing score for the IELTS exam is 7.”
Extracted from catalog.ucsc.edu (opens in new tab) and graduate.ucsc.edu (opens in new tab) · latest recorded check 2026-09-08